New Dramatists, Inc.

  • New York


424 West 44th Street
New York
New York
United States

About Us

New Dramatists is dedicated to the playwright and pursues a singular mission: To provide playwrights with time, space and resources in the company of gifted peers to create work, realize their artistic potential, and make lasting contributions to the theatre.

Founded in 1949 by Michaela O’Harra in association with Howard Lindsay, Richard Rodgers, Russel Crouse, Oscar Hammerstein II, John Golden, Moss Hart, Maxwell Anderson, John Wharton, Robert E. Sherwood and Elmer Rice, New Dramatists is one of the country’s leading playwright centers and a nationally recognized new play laboratory, unrivaled in the depth and duration of our commitment to writers. In the 69 years since our founding, 650 new dramatists have passed through our doors, creating work that has laid the foundation for contemporary American dramatic literature.

Our alumni include some of the most influential writers of our time: Robert Anderson, Kia Corthron, Nilo Cruz, Horton Foote, Richard Foreman, Maria Irene Fornes, John Guare, David Lindsay-Abaire, Eduardo Machado, Donald Margulies, Joe Masteroff, Lynn Nottage, Suzan-Lori Parks, John Patrick Shanley, Mac Wellman, August Wilson, Doug Wright, and many more.

Current playwrights and alumni have won 20 Pulitzers, 23 Tonys®, 80 Obies, 17 Drama Desk Awards, 6 MacArthur Fellowships, and 14 Susan Smith Blackburn Awards.

New Dramatists itself received a Ross Wetzsteon Award for excellence at the 2005 Obies and a 2001 Tony Honor for “blessing the theatre with new and exceptional works that have assured both a rich theatrical heritage and future for the American Theatre.”