The Council City of New York

  • NY


250 Broadway 16 Floor
New York
United States

About Us

The New York City Council is the lawmaking body of the city of New York. It is comprised of 51 members from 51 distinct Council Districts throughout the five boroughs. The Council monitors the operation and performance of city agencies, makes land use decisions and has sole responsiblity for approving the city's budget. It also legislates on a wide range of other subjects. The Council is an equal partner with the Mayor in the governing of New York City.