Search

Event: Webinar

5/5 - MUTUAL AID in The Time of COVID: Screening and Discussion of THE RESPONSE

Apply

Dragon Dreaming USA - Mutual Aid Support Group


New
|
Published 5 months ago

One time only
May 5, 2020
5:00pm EDT - 7:00pm EDT

5/5 - MUTUAL AID in The Time of COVID: Screening and Discussion of THE RESPONSE

Mutual Aid can be a portal to community solidarity and self-help during this time of COVID-19

On Idealist Day, 5/5 @ 5pm (EST) (see different timezones at the bottom):

A Special ZOOM Screening of Shareable’s Documentary  The Response: How Puerto Ricans Are Restoring Power to the People.

In the midst of the COVID pandemic, and in anticipation of an increase in the frequency and severity of Climate Disasters, it is essential that local Mutual Aid initiativesproliferate and expand their programs.

While the operations of Mutual Aid are local and in-person, much of the organizing is done online, and there is a potential for support and resources to be drawn from networks that are regional, national or global in scope.

Please join Dragon Dreaming and Idealist in a two-hour Zoom event featuring a special screening of Shareable’s 30 minute documentary, The Response: How Puerto Ricans Are Restoring Power to the People. 

In addition to the screening, we will hear from several local Mutual Aid initiatives and from Shareable, Idealist and Dragon Dreaming, whose operations are global in scope.

This is intended to be the first step in an ongoing project of bringing global support to the work of local Mutual Aid initiatives.

On Idealist Day, 5/5 @ 5pm (EST) (see different timezones at the bottom):
  • 1 pm (Alaska)
  • 2pm (Pacific USA)
  • 3pm (Mountain USA)
  • 4pm (Central USA, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru)
  • 5pm (EST) (East Coast USA, Chile, Venezuela, Western Brazil)
  • 6pm (East Brazil, Argentina)
  • 10 pm (UK, Lisbon)
  • 11 pm (Spain, France, Germany, Italy, South Africa)


Mutual Aid can be a portal to community solidarity and self-help during this time of COVID-19

On Idealist Day, 5/5 @ 5pm (EST) (see different timezones at the bottom):

A Special ZOOM Screening of Shareable’s Documentary  The Response: How Puerto…

Details at a glance

  • Virtual Opportunity

How to Join

If you don't have zoom installed in your phone or computer, please download it at www.zoom.us . As we will be watching a 30 minutes documentary, we recommend you use a computer for this event.

If you don't have zoom installed in your phone or computer, please download it at www.zoom.us . As we will be watching a 30 minutes documentary, we recommend you use a computer for this…

Apply