Dane County

  • Madison




210 Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd.
United States

About Us

Dane County has a County Executive who is the Chief Executive Officer. The County acts as an agency for the State of Wisconsin to enforce both State and County laws for protection of its citizens' livelihood, safety, health and welfare and property. The county has seven elected offices and eighteen departments and has over 2000 regular employees. Dane County's mission is to provide high quality and efficient public services in the areas of general government, public safety, courts, highways and transportation, health and human services, recreation and education, conservation and economic development. Located in southern Wisconsin, Dane County is a growing and diverse community. It is home to both the state capitol and the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Madison has been recognized nationally as a vibrant and comfortable place to raise a family, recreate, educate, and work. Dane County is an Affirmative Action Employer operating under a civil service merit system.