SEAOHUN Foundation

  • Chiang Mai


Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, CMU
Mae Hia
Muang Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai

About Us

SEAOHUN Foundation


Established in 2011 with the support of the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID), the Southeast Asia One Health University Network (SEAOHUN) is a consortium of 10 founding universities and 14 faculties in Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, and Vietnam that are collaborating to build One Health capacity and academic partnerships with government, national, and regional stakeholders in the Southeast Asia region. SEAOHUN’s vision is to empower a regional network of social and intellectual excellence on One health working to reduce infectious and zoonotic diseases. SEAOHUN’s mission is to link and empower a regional network of academic partnerships with government, national and regional stakeholders in Southeast Asia to generate social and intellectual capital on One Health against infectious and zoonotic diseases.

In 2012, the SEAOHUN agreed to establish a foundation to support and assure the long-term sustainability of the Network. SEAOHUN is registered as a Foundation in Thailand with two governing Boards and its secretariat office located at Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, Chiang Mai University, Thailand. The Executive Board comprises of 10 members – one from each founding university. The Foundation Board comprises of 4 members – one from each founding country. The Foundation Board oversees and fulfills the Secretariat’s legal status and requirements in Thailand.

SEAOHUN works to enhance the student experience by facilitating teaching and learning of One Health approaches to prevent and address outbreaks of zoonotic and emerging infectious diseases. SEAOHUN’s key function is to encourage and facilitate collaborative activities and projects among network members with an emphasis on trans-disciplinary and trans-boundary partnerships. Programming includes, but is not limited to, supporting student and staff exchange, curriculum development, strengthening and developing teaching methodologies, and developing research capacity building and innovative projects that provide evidence-based One Health data and outcomes for advocacy with government and other collaborating partner agencies.

SEAOHUN collaborates with each country network to enhance capacity of the current and future workforce in using One Health approaches to prevent, detect and respond to zoonotic and emerging infectious disease threats. The four One Health University networks (OHUNs) are 1) Indonesia One Health University Network (INDOHUN), 2) Malaysia One Health University Network (MyOHUN), 3) Thailand One Health University Network (THOHUN), and 4) Vietnam One Health University Network (VOHUN). Each county network has a National Coordinating Office (NCO) and Project Management Unit based in its country with its own governance and operating structure. In 2017, SEAOHUN consists of 62 universities, 115 fanetculties and government agencies from the four member countries.

SEAOHUN has successfully implemented its mission throughout the past 7 years and has recently begun to expand its operation within the Southeast Asia region (e.g., Cambodia) with a goal to cover all the ten (10) members of Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN). In addition, SEAOHUN has also begun to seek additional donor and partner support to enable its continued geographic and programmatic expansion. However, during this growth and expansion process a number of structural and governance inefficiencies have emerged over the last several years.