American Philosophical Association

  • DE


31 Amstel Avenue
United States

About Us

The American Philosophical Association was founded in 1900 to promote the exchange of ideas among philosophers, to encourage creative and scholarly activity in philosophy, to facilitate the professional work and teaching of philosophers, and to represent philosophy as a discipline.

Having grown from a few hundred members to over 10,000, the American Philosophical Association is one of the largest philosophical societies in the world and the only American philosophical society not devoted to a particular school or philosophical approach.

Its three Divisions, the Central, Eastern and Pacific, founded in 1900, 1901 and 1924, respectively, conduct annual meetings at which philosophers present research and exchange ideas. Since 1927, the American Philosophical Association has functioned under a constitution providing for a national Board of Officers.

The APA is affiliated with the American Council of Learned Societies, the International Federation of Philosophical Societies, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the National Humanities Alliance.

Since 1975, the National Office of The American Philosophical Association has been located at the University of Delaware -- an arrangement made possible through the generosity of the University of Delaware.