Campaign for College Opportunity-Modesto

  • CA


201 Needham St
United States

About Us

The Campaign for College Opportunity is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization devoted to ensuring that the next generation of college-age students in California has the chance to go to college as promised by the state’s 1960 Master Plan for Higher Education. The Campaign was founded by the California Business Roundtable, the Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund (MALDEF) and the Community College League of California in 2003. Michele Siqueiros serves as the Executive Director.

The goals of the Campaign are to substantially increase the number of students attending two and four year colleges in the state and to significantly impact the rate that students succeed and achieve their post-secondary education objectives. Through building a strong committed coalition of key education, industry, labor, and policy leaders as well as leading public awareness efforts which highlight the crisis facing higher education in California, the Campaign works to create an environment of change and lead the state toward effective policy solutions.

The Campaign would not be possible without financial support from a number of institutions including the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, the James Irvine Foundation, the Lumina Education Foundation, the Ford Foundation, the Walter S. Johnson Foundation, the McConnell Foundation, the California Wellness Foundation, the College Access Foundation of California, the Koret Foundation, the Stuart Foundation, the Rosalinde and Arthur Gilbert Foundation, Citigroup, Kaiser Permanente and many other individuals and organizations.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS Bill Hauck (Chair), President, California Business Roundtable Roberta Achtenberg, Economic Development Consultant Herb Carter, Trustee, California State University James Doti, President, Chapman University Chuck Mack, Secretary-Treasurer, Teamsters Local 70 Frederick R. Ruiz, Chairman of the Board, Ruiz Food Products Van Ton-Quinlivan, (Treasurer) Director, Workforce Strategy & Diversity, PG&E John Trasviña, President & General Counsel, MALDEF David Wolf, CCO Co-Founder & Chair, Sonoma County Board of Education Steve Weiner, (Vice Chair) CCO Co-Founder

Former Board Members: Constance Carroll, Chancellor, San Diego Community College District Antonia Hernández, President, California Community Foundation Robin Kramer, Chief of Staff, Office of Los Angeles Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa Scott Lay, President and CEO, Community College League of California Mary Lyons, President, University of San Diego David “Mas” Masumoto, Farmer and Author Eliseo Medina, Executive Vice President, Service Employees International Union Ann Marie Tallman, former President & General Counsel, MALDEF David Viar, President, American River College Diane Woodruff, Chancellor, California Community Colleges