The Posse Foundation, Chicago

  • IL


111 W Jackson Blvd
Suite 1100
United States

About Us

About The Posse Foundation:

The Posse Foundation is a nationally recognized youth leadership development and college access program that identifies, recruits, and trains diverse teams—Posses—of public high school students and sends them to top colleges and universities. Since 1989, 7,734 Scholars have been selected to attend top-tier colleges and universities throughout the country. Nationally, Posse Scholars have won $1.1 billion in scholarships from Posse’s partner institutions and are persisting and graduating at a rate of 90 percent—significantly above the national average. These young people have been agents of positive change on their campuses.

Posse’s unique and carefully structured, three-month selection process identifies candidates using criteria beyond academic achievement, including leadership talent, desire to succeed and ability to work constructively with people from diverse backgrounds. Posse’s high school through college programming makes it one of the most comprehensive programs of its kind in the nation. In 2010, The Posse Foundation was identified by President Obama as one of 10 national non-profit organizations to receive a portion of his Nobel Peace Prize grant. The foundation is poised to double in size over the next ten years and dramatically increase its national impact.

Today, Posse is national initiative with chapters in Atlanta, the Bay Area, Boston, Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, New Orleans, New York and Washington, D.C. Posse has a staff of 160 nationally. There is a national board of directors, as well as advisory boards in each city.

Posse’s current university partners include Agnes Scott, Babson, Bard, Boston University, Brandeis, Bryn Mawr, Bucknell, Carleton, Case Western, Centre, Colby, The College of Wooster, Connecticut College, Cornell, Dartmouth, Davidson, Denison, DePauw, Dickinson, Franklin & Marshall, George Washington, Grinnell, Hamilton, Hobart and William Smith, Illinois Wesleyan, Kalamazoo, Lafayette, Lawrence, Lehigh, Middlebury, Mount Holyoke, Northwestern, Oberlin, Pepperdine, Pomona, Sewanee, Smith, St. Olaf College, Syracuse, Texas A&M, Trinity, Tulane, Union, University of California, Berkeley, University of Michigan, University of Notre Dame, University of Puget Sound, University of Rochester, University of Texas at Austin, University of Virginia, University of Wisconsin - Madison, Vanderbilt, Vassar, Wellesley, Wesleyan, and Wheaton.